Innocence by P. Kavanagh

They laughed at one I loved-

The triangular hill that hung

Under the Big Forth. They said

That I was bounded by the whitethorn hedges

Of the little farm and did not know the world.

But I knew that love’s doorway to life

Is the same doorway everywhere.

Ashamed of what I loved

I flung her from me and called her a ditch

Although she was smiling at me with violets.

But now I am back in her briary arms

The dew of an Indian Summer lies

On bleached potato-stalks

What age am I?

I do not know what age I am,

I am no mortal age;

I know nothing of women, Nothing of cities,

I cannot die Unless I walk outside these whitethorn hedges.

One thought on “Innocence by P. Kavanagh

  1. The Linnet there, shakes the bush
    Sweeter throated than the
    Blackbird or Thrush
    Stops my walk and starts my song
    A feeble echo to his refrain
    And brings upon my careworn head
    The sad, inevitable rain.

    K Fitzgerald 2002.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

